Gems and teacups! My first tattoo-

Hello there lovelies,
In the light of upcoming job prospects I have decided to update my humble little Blog with tattoo ideas and designs- Maybe one day I will be able to look back and see just how much I have improved over the years?
Firstly- I have wandered back into the realms of Wicca and spirituality recently and I didn’t realise how much I missed having them in my life!
Crystal décor has been a very IN thing on the internet, particularly on the pages of Pinterest, and since there’s such a great love of the shiny stones, I thought I’d attempt one as a drawing.

My god this was hard- there’s so many colours and textures- how the hell do you get all of the tints and highlights?? The depth and the translucent smoke that weaves in and out of the internal fibres of the stone? How?

KODAK Digital Still Camera

The gems have such difficult and geometric shapes to capture, and so many colours and layers- I have no idea how to capture the depth of them!!

I want to do one in watercolour, so remind me not to forget!
The second was based on a conversation I had with one of the lovely Girls who will work at the Tattoo shop with me- It was concerning whether I have any tattoos, and the sort of design I would want. I decided that the one that would best suit me was actually a ”cat lady” tattoo!

It was a bit of a revelation that I can sum myself up in a design that includes cats, tea, and witchery- but not a bad one!
I told Ingrid that I’d do a rough sketch and send it to her, and then she’d do another in return, but I think that will wait until I’m actually over there!

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Moons, cats, tea, ribbon, cups and saucers!

Once I’ve drawn this little design onto darker paper to better show the highlights and colours, it’ll look much better and a lot less flat!
Although I love the kitsch look of the tattoos I found online- they’re just not ME, and I am entirely of the opinion that if you are to get a tattoo it should be your own ideas and your own inspirations. Even if you don’t feel good enough to  draw your own from scratch- take it to your tattoo artist and explain what you want! I’m sure they’ll come up with something you want, and looking at it over the years will be much less difficult!
I’ve been thinking about this one for a long time, and I’m still not bored with the idea, so I’m hoping that it’ll be a good one for me to get!
I’ll post an image of it once I feel like I’ve done it a little more justice- the above image looks flat and lifeless- much more to do!!

Leave a Reply

