Virus shawl..

Last year was a year of progress- I never thought I would, but I finally learned to crochet.
I was inspired by the wife of a man I used to care for, who brought me a book into work along with a blanket that she’d made me, and told me that it was time for me to learn.
It was hilariously difficult at first, but then again so is everything that you’ve never done before.
My first ”square” ended up looking like a Christmas tree with slipped stitches and mistakes everywhere, but I was soon on my way and made myself a scarf and other little bits and pieces-
This post however is about a pattern I found online- It was a god send!
Stevie Nicks had recently wandered back into my life while I had been watching American Horror Story- Coven, and I fell in love with her all over again.


I had put all of my records away for the winter, but I pulled out the first one I was ever given, ”Rumours” by Fleetwood Mac, and listened over and over again as I used to.
I know that Stevie is of a pagan persuasion, as am I, and the shawls she was wearing just looked so snug. My dress making had taken off a little more by this time, and I had one with tie shoulders- almost exactly like the one below, although I don’t look quite so graceful in it!

tie shoulder dress

It’s one of my favourite dresses, and I wear it often, but the knotted shoulders tend to make me look like I’m wearing giant shoulder pads, or they stretch my cardigans beyond all recognition!
I decided that it was time to attempt a crochet pattern that was a little more difficult so I found one on Youtube! It’s a beautiful pattern and if you’re a fan of crochet it’s quite nice to give it a go!

Please don’t worry about the difficulty of it- the lady explains it very well, and you can easily follow with a little experience of crochet.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

It’s almost like a really pretty ”Fan stitch”!

I ran out of black wool but am well on my way- after all, who wouldn’t want to look like this…?

witch shawl

2 thoughts on “Virus shawl..

Leave a Reply

