Complicated tattoos.

Throughout my life as an artist, if I can be called one, I have always loved details, symbolism and things that look as though hard work and a lot of time is evident.
I put a lot into my drawings, so much detail and small parts, along with other bits and pieces but have already found in my newly commenced tattoo training that it needs to be cut down!
I do a lot of concentrating at work, and am currently spending my day watching the immense talent at work, and collecting as many tips as possible, and over the past few days I have garnered that a good tattoo is something simple, or at least with simple line work, so that when the ink spreads naturally under the skin over time it won’t look like an incomprehensible mess. Good designs have detailed shading and colour, but simple line work, well spaced and without too many lines.

I think the trick with the ones above is the fantastical shading- the line work was quite simple, but the shading, the shadows and the illusions of light all give the impressions of extra line work, and a more difficult design. Of course it takes immense talent to colour and shade so beautifully, but it is most likely that the stencil applied to the skin initially was one that gave hints towards the shading rather than the use of solid line work.
I was going to put my designs in frames, maybe with some wilting flowers or burnt wood but i’m quite glad that I didn’t-

frankenstein framed-both

I don’t really like these framed tattoos- i think they look a bit ”doll like” (deepest apologies, i just prefer the ones above!!!)

Perhaps the designs that I drew were a little too ”typical”, but I wanted them to be as iconic and close to the film as possible- I also wanted them to be accurate and instantly recognisable on sight, or at least to other Hammer Horror enthusiasts so straight from the film it is!
I think perhaps I still used too many lines, but the designs are looking quite nice so far.. I think I need so much more practice with line work and to learn what makes a good tattoo design, but i’m sure that will come with more advice and a little time.
I added clouds, lightning, burning torches, smoke and may add a bit more in the background at some point, but my partner seems happy with them, and they are for him, so it’s what matters.
If he is happy, I am happy! ❤

KODAK Digital Still Camera

I had white streaks in my hair for a long time, so my other half sometimes jokes that i’m his ”bride”. I told him that he reminds me of Herman Munster/ Frankenstein in his creepers and with his slicked back hair.

I think he wants them on his upper arms, which would look so awesome with all of the T-shirts he’s been wearing recently… I chose the quote ”we belong dead” for Frankenstein’s monster because it was the most memorable line for me in the second film, (Frankenstein’s bride, 1935) and was also featured on a scene in Hellboy where he broods over the prospect of not quite being normal (a favourite film and comic book of both of us)- so quite apt, through and through!
I couldn’t find a quote that I liked for the Bride… I toyed with things like ”Death becomes her”, quickly abandoning it when I realised it was from the 1992 film starring Meryl Streep and Goldie Hawn! I trawled through so many quotes from the book, and tried to grab some short ones that struck me as quite powerful along with some others that I thought that I might be able to shorten if need be…

1. “If I cannot inspire love, I will cause fear!”

 

2. “The beginning is always today.”

3.“Solitude was my only consolation – deep, dark, deathlike solitude.”

4. “There is love in me the likes of which you’ve never seen. There is rage in me the likes of which should never escape. If I am not satisfied int he one, I will indulge the other.” 

5. “Man,” I cried, “how ignorant art thou in thy pride of wisdom!”

6. “Thus strangely are our souls constructed, and by slight ligaments are we bound to prosperity and ruin.”

7. “My dreams were all my own; I accounted for them to nobody; they were my refuge when annoyed – my dearest pleasure when free.”

(There’s many many more quotes here, if you want them!! https://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/11139.Mary_Shelley )

Of course, I could go for the obvious ”It’s ALIVE!”, but what fun would that be?
I want something that retains the horror of the book, as ground breaking and awe inspiring as it was when it first grasped the public mind! Maybe a little of this sentiment springs from the fact that since the film was released ”Adam” (Frankenstein’s monster) has been portrayed as green.
He most certainly was NOT green in the book! Not by a long shot -he was a yellowing flesh colour, but isn’t that truly sickening and too awful for a film poster?

”His limbs were in proportion, and I had selected his features as beautiful. Beautiful! Great God! His yellow skin scarcely covered the work of muscles and arteries beneath; his hair was of a lustrous black, and flowing; his teeth of a pearly whiteness; but these luxuriances only formed a more horrid contrast with his watery eyes, that seemed almost of the same colour as the dun-white sockets in which they were set, his shrivelled complexion and straight black lips.”

If i’m honest this description of him is something that I find fascinating and take my hat off to the series Penny Dreadful for at least sticking to the jet black, flowing hair and perfect teeth! He sounds tragic and hideous all at once, something to be loved and feared equally!
But back to the quotes- There don’t seem to be too many short ones that are jumping out at me too much, maybe
“The beginning is always today.”
Not one that is particularly famous, but still from the book and quite sweetly inspiring all the same. I do love a couple of the ones I chose above and I may swap the quotes so that the bride’s plaque has the quote from her film (”We belong dead”), and the monster has one from Shelley’s book.
Which quote did you prefer? Are the designs entirely terrible for my first ever attempt?
I look forward to hearing from you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

